Because of His mercy


This is my history.

I stayed in JB until 7 years old at the 17 floor apartment. Then the whole family moved to Skudai. So I transferred to SJK (C) Pu Sze. In Standard 4, I was in 4AB class.

4AB in SJK (C) Pu Sze

At that time, only the best class was allowed (or forced) to join the marching band. But the class teacher of 4AA said they are too busy to join the band, so 4AB class was chosen instead. In the marching band, I played trumpet. (Here’s started my passion to trumpet and music.) I still remember my Standard 6 form teacher Lee Ai Chien. She was a very good teacher, and a good Christian though I didn’t know at the time. She used to tell us old testament stories such as the story of Moses crossed the red sea, seven years of famine, and others. These stories still stick in my head since then. So this is my childhood.

When I was 13 years old, I continued my secondary study in SMK Skudai. Here I met The Boys’ Brigade =) I was actually attracted by the band. So I joined. I think this is my best decision in my youth.

BB Logo

In BB, I have gone through many activities, particularly band activities. Ha, since thenI date with my sweet trumpet until now =) (Though now I spend more time with my second husband – guitar.. Trumpet is too loud to play T.T )

My Trumpet Section Family =)
Trumpeters in Hisland
Me Playing Trumpet

I have so many memories in BB, BB is my youth, my youth is wholly BB.

Although I have so much to talk about BB but I will keep it brief. I can still quote our BB objective: “The object of the Boys’ Brigade shall be the advancement of Christ’s kingdom among boys and the promotion of habits of obedience, reverence,  discipline, self-respect and all that tends toward the true Christian manliness." Yeah, BB is a Christian uniform organization. Besides many badge classes and band, we go to church to have bible study and worship God every first Sunday of the month.  And in camping or picnic or band training course or trip, we would have prayer before we eat and devotion time before we sleep. BB actually opens a gate for many of us to know Christ. However I was not a believer in BB.

So time flew. I reached the age to go to tertiary school. After struggling between NUS and UM, I went to UM.

BME Chinese Course Mates

I and Wei Shan were in the same orientation group. Wei Shan and my course mate Li Kim were room mates and Pei Yin and I were room mates. So this is how we four connected. Then Calinda met Li Kim in Engineering Tower. Through Li Kim, we became friends with Calinda and through Calinda we came to know Keng Yin and the Navs.

Wei Shan, I, and Calinda

After some sharing from Calinda, God touched my heart and I believed in him, in 12 or 13 Oct 2008. Yay!! And after that I, Pei Yin and Li Kim moved into Happy Apartment (happy staying here indeed xD) and stay with Keng Yin. We have bible study every Friday here.

Navs' Logo

Well, that’s the key events happened in my life which lead me to Christ. Now I think back, I am very grateful to God! Lacking any one of the events, the chain will be broken and I will not be here with Navigators,  receiving so much blessing from God. God had planned a lot for me. He put a bait ‘music’ to guide me to BB. And through BB, I am not defensive to Christianity so that when Calinda came to me, I was open to her sharing and I believed in Jesus Christ my Lord. Thank you Lord for the love which I do not deserve.

Titus 3:5 He saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of His mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal of the Holy Spirit.

Also, there were many ‘miracles’ happened in my life.

2002, I joined BB camp. In the jungle trekking, I ran down the slope without stopping, it was so exciting! But it was dangerous. If Junn Tian didn’t grab my hand at that time, I would be lying in the jungle, injured or died. God has preserved my life.

Back in 2003, I went to cycling with Chuan Yu, Wei Jian, and other B friends. When I was crossing the road, I was knocked by a car. I flew over 1 or 2 meters from my bicycle and rolled on the road. But, I was not injured, not even a scratch!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even the window of the car cracked and my bicycle  was twisted. Amazing! God has preserved my life again.  So the driver later on sent me to hospital to have a emergency check. You know what, she is a Christian. She shared Christ with me too. But my heart was hard and I didn’t believe.

2004, I went to Angsana Mall. Anyone stay in my area will know that it is hard to discover bus stop there. It was dark. However I was so daring that I walked randomly to the bus stop alone. Randomly, haha, I really didn’t have any idea of where was the bus stop. So I walked and walked and enjoy walking and walked walked walked. Suddenly, rain dropped. Well, without umbrella, so I walked back to Angsana Mall, I didn’t want to be wet. Until here, it seems normal right. In fact everything was normal. Just that, at the moment I turned back and the rain stopped after I walked a few steps, that is in 1 or 2 minutes. God actually sent a signal to call me back! God has preserved my life for the third time now. Imagine what will happen if I continue to walk in the dark and isolated road. Any mistake and I would not be here.

God blessed me a lot too. My life has been so smooth and easy. Small happenings such as if I forgot to bring text-book, it will not be used; if I was too lazy to go to class, big possibility the class will be cancelled;  if I skip any part of my study, it may not come out in the exam; so on and on. Lolz

I was chosen to be in PLKN so-called the National Service in 2006, for the period March to May. BB Pesta fall on the same year too, in June. So I can’t join the band competition, how disappointing! Well, what to do? >.< So in May, I was freed from PLKN. And hey, God blessed, there was an empty placement in the formation, and so I joined! Yay~ Although Pesta was in a week time, I managed to complete the 10 minutes formation and songs in four days lol. FOUR DAYS only, I’m proud for this achievement =) And it turned out to be the best performance I had in BB band. Of course, we won the champion. Hooray! See, God has the best plan for me. Thank you Lord!

After STPM, I got offers from NUS and UM. It was a dilemma. Cheap or quality; leisure or dynamic; practical or  dream; engineering or science. I suffered from thinking of all these dilemma for a week and I decided to go to NUS. However Mr Soon Hock Wei who studied in NUS advised me to go UM first and then only do post-graduate there. So I took his advice and burnt my head again. OK la, I would go UM. At times I was very unhappy in UM, thinking of NUS, comparing and complaining between the two.  However God came to me and blessed me with the truth. Phi 3: 7-8 “But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ…"

I am not an accident.

Jeremiah 29:11-13 “…For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, " plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me with all your heart…"


發表迴響

在WordPress.com寫網誌.

向上 ↑

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

